AAMC Home   Tomorrow's Doctors Tomorrow's Cures
Program Fact Sheet
    Scholarship/ Indian Health Programs

Name of Program:

Indian Health Service Scholarship Program

Program Web site:


Designation (Fund Source):


Eligible Specialties:

Pre Nursing, Pre Medicine, Pre Dentistry, Nursing BS, Nurse Anesthetist MS, Nurse Midwife MS, Physician Assistant MS, Clinical Social Work MS, Nurse Practitioner MS, DNP, Clinical Psychology D, Counseling Psychology D, Dentistry D, Optometry D, Pharmacy D, Physician (Allopathy/Osteopathy), Physical Therapy D, Podiatry D.

Service Requirements (formerly Service Stipulation):

The scholarship program provides financial support in exchange for a minimum two-year service commitment within an Indian health program in your chosen health professional discipline.

Who Can Apply:

You must be a US citizen. You must be American Indian or Alaska Native.


The application cycle is now closed. The next application cycle will be open December 15, 2023 - February 28, 2024.

Repayment/Scholarship terms:

Amount of repayment per year of service:

IHS pays Health Professions scholarship financial aid for a 12-month period from August 1 through July 31 of the next academic year, for up to four years of full-time (eight years part-time) academic work.

How to Apply:

See website on how to apply.

Additional Information/Comments:

Contact person(s):

Name, title:

Robert Pittman

Agency name:

Indian Health Service


801 Thompson Avenue, TMP Suite 450A,
Rockville, MD 20852


(301) 443-6622





© 1995- AAMC | 655 K Street, NW Washington, DC 20001 |  Contact Us |  Follow Us  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Privacy Statement